We worked hard today, preparing for our upcoming Annual Corn Boil/Weenie Roast, that will be held on Saturday at our country home. I'll be shopping later this week, but today I had to take inventory as to what paper products I actually needed, etc. I am pretty set on all that, I guess I over-bought last year! OOPS! This event is a big to-do for me... as it is a passed down family event, started by my uncle many years ago. When Uncle Roy's age and bad-health started to creep in on him, he sold his home & parted with the things that meant a lot to him, as all people have faced or will face at one point in time... anyway, he picked me to 'inherit' the huge iron kettle & tri-pod, and this time-honored tradition. The kettle was actually owned by my grandfather, and it was used when the butchering was done on the farms.  So, the roots go pretty deep. I feel honored to be the keeper of this tradition and the kettle! Uncle Roy has since passed away, and I really miss him a lot at this time of year. Even after he passed the tradition to me, he was always the one who showed up 2 to 3 hours early to help shuck the corn! I will be visiting with him in my heart & my thoughts, as I set and shuck the corn this Saturday!
Picture



Leave a Reply.