The time is getting closer and I can hardly wait! I have taken one of my UFO quilt tops to the local LAQ that I use, to be completed! I made this quilt specifically for our bed in the 2000-2001 time line. I can't remember for sure the exact time/year, but, I could probably figure it out. Anyway, it is long enough to drape down both sides of the bed, so when we turn over in the night, we don't get the back draft feature! Most of you know what I mean. It is a Dresden Plate pattern, with empty fill-in blocks, (as in, the Dresden plate blocks are off-set with an  empty block between). This was done on purpose this way, as I wanted to hand-quilt those blocks. But, since I can no longer do long hand-stitching projects, I chose to let the LAQ do it. Then, knowing that the LAQ would be expensive because of the custom work I wanted, I knew it would have to wait! But, I am tired of waiting for my quilt, so I am taking the plunge... though, I am not telling my hubby what the price tag is for it. If he happens to see it, then we'll deal with it. Till then, this information is only on a 'need to know' basis, and right now, he doesn't need to know! Though, my hubby is very supportive of my quilting habit. So, he might not even say a word about it... but, I don't want to take that chance right now. I'll make some table runners or small wall hangings to sell, to put the money back into our account.

I talked to her (the LAQ) yesterday, and she went on & on at how beautiful the quilt and quilting is, and that it is her most beautiful quilt she has ever done, (and she is NOT a haughty person, so this is a rare comment by her. But, she does very beautiful work!) So, that makes me even more excited to see the finished result!! I will post pictures when I get home this afternoon. OOOOOO- the excitement is building!! I CAN'T WAIT TO SEE IT!!

Chris in PA



Leave a Reply.