I am happy to see the fair coming in some ways, but, I don't like it coming in others. Yes, I get to put my quilty things in for a large 'Show & Tell' and judging experience, but, on the down side, it means it is the end of summer!! I am not happy about that!

This summer has been good. The weather has been perfect! Yes, we have had some tremendous humidity & heat... but, that is what summer is all about! Our garden has done wonderfully, this year. The tomatoes are coming on, though, no red ones yet. I am patiently awaiting my first tomato sandwich! We will be picking a lot of green tomatoes this afternoon for 'Green Tomato Relish', which is a favorite with my family and the extended family, (they call it "Gold"). The recipe is the same as my grandmother used, many years ago. She passed away in 1968, so it is nice that her memory still lives on. I even passed down the recipe to my nephew a couple of years ago... so, it is on to yet another generation again!

Getting back to the fair... I entered 4 items... 2 large quilts (Both King sized), a  wall hanging, (which I am not expecting any ribbons on this one. I entered it to boost their numbers), and a table runner. We are going to the fair here in a bit, to see how I did in the judging yesterday. I'll keep you posted.  I have pictures of the quilts and the wall hanging, but, forgot to take a picture of the runner. So, I'll post them (pictures) all next week.

I canned beets yesterday, using my Mom's recipe, which everybody also loves! I do not mind canning them, even though it is an all-day job! I gave a paper grocery bag full of beets away to a friend, as I usually do. I still ended up canning 24 pints. That is a good number to get everyone through the winter. I still have some from last years canning, too.

So, once I do a couple batches of relish, and do tomatoes once they ripen, I guess I'll get a break from canning until it's time for apples. Come to think of it, I would like to do some peaches, too. So, I had better get on the stick and find some to can! I'll be headed to Amish farm country before they are gone!!

OK... I am going to go eat breakfast and get ready to head to the fair!!

Have a great day all!

Chris in PA



Leave a Reply.