Today, I did get to do some hand-sewing on my Paint Chip Challenge... still have about 2 sides to go with the binding. When this is complete, I am thinking about starting some fall projects to sell. I got a bunch of the Buggy Barn 'Pumpkin Spice' fabric last year, and the new 'Disa Designs' fall book, also... I have several projects that I want to do with that... now is a good time to start. I always have UFO's to work on... and WIP's are never in short supply in my sewing room!

I picked the squash that was ready in the garden before they grow to monstrosity proportions... My brother gave us another batch of green beans last week, and we finally got them canned today. Thank God they were still good! We are in the midst of canning the beets. I did give half of them to my buddy, Judy, so we only will have 2 batches to do instead of 4! Praise be! I really didn't need any beets this year because I have many pints left from last year... but I supply several family members and I don't mind canning beets at all! So, it doesn't hurt to have extras. I plant beets every year, whether I need them or not! I use my Mom's canning recipe, and we all love that! They are soooooo good! Our tomatoes have acquired blight... most everyone's have... I haven't heard anyone saying they have had a tomato sandwich yet... Dennis will be pulling our plants this weekend and burning them. I hope I can pick up some tomatoes next week when I scoot down to the Amish Farmers Market in Belleville! I am soooooo hungry for a tomato sandwich!

Well, gotta go. The next batch of beets are ready to be put in the canner... then, I'm off to bed. Dennis can take them out of the pot after they boil for 30 minutes! Hopefully, I'll be dreaming by then!



Leave a Reply.